Did Rizwan get out on a no-ball?

Teenage sensation Naseem Shah breaks down in tears as he is handed debut cap
November 21, 2019
Moin Khan says Pakistan can change history in Australia
November 21, 2019
Show all

Did Rizwan get out on a no-ball?

Brisbane: Pakistan cricket fans were up in arms on Thursday after wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Rizwan was controversially given an out by the on-field umpire during the first Test against Australia on Thursday.

Pakistan were settling down after they went down 94-5 when Rizwan was edged by Pat Cummins to Tim Paine, which the TV replays later confirmed was a no-ball.

This was the first such controversy during Pakistan’s tour of Australia which invited strong criticism from cricket fans and experts.

Vishal Dikshit, a senior cricket analyst, urged the authorities to be vigilant and asked for proper use of latest tools available. “Technology is there to reduce the errors but you need to know how to use it,” he said.

Dikshit wasn’t the only one.

Pakistani netizens were quick to point out the error and slammed the decision by the on-field umpires, which was also upheld by third umpire Michael Gough.

Former Australian Test captain Allan Border also questioned the call and said. “I’m trying to find something behind (the line) there but I just can’t,” Border said on Fox Cricket commentary.

Brett Lee, Jason Gillespie and Ricky Ponting also agreed with Border.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.