Pakistan squad for Sri Lanka T20Is announced

Abid Ali replaces Imam ul Haq due to an injury
October 2, 2019
Sri Lanka win toss, opt to bat first against Pakistan in third ODI
October 2, 2019
Show all

Pakistan squad for Sri Lanka T20Is announced

Pakistan national team’s head coach and chief selector, Misbah-ul-Haq, has named a 16-member squad for three T20Is against Sri Lanka in Lahore from 5 to 9 October.

From the ODI side presently in Karachi, there are three changes. Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal and Faheem Ashraf have replaced Abid Ali, Mohammad Rizwan and Imam-ul-Haq.

Ahmed last featured in a T20I in June 2018 against Scotland, while Umar’s last appearance in the same format was in September 2016 against the West Indies. Faheem last played for Pakistan in a five-match away ODI series against England in May this year.

Imam has been left out of the T20I side due to an injury in his left-hand, which he sustained while fielding in the second ODI against Sri Lanka on Monday. He is also unavailable for selection for the third ODI on Wednesday.

T20I Squad (in alphabetical order, domestic teams in brackets):

Sarfaraz Ahmed (C)

Babar Azam (VC)

Ahmed Shehzad

Asif Ali

Faheem Ashraf

Fakhar Zaman

Haris Sohail

Iftikhar Ahmed

Imad Wasim

Mohammad Amir

Mohammad Hasnain

Mohammad Nawaz

Shadab Khan

Umar Akmal

Usman Shinwari

Wahab Riaz

T20I Series schedule:

5 Oct – 1st T20I, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

7 Oct – 2nd T20I, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

9 Oct – 3rd T20I, Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.