Sri Lanka win toss, opt to bat first against Pakistan in third ODI

Pakistan squad for Sri Lanka T20Is announced
October 2, 2019
Limited tickets for Lahore T20Is remaining
October 2, 2019
Show all

Sri Lanka win toss, opt to bat first against Pakistan in third ODI

Karachi: Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first against Pakistan in the third one-day international (ODI) at Karachi’s National Stadium.

Pakistan lead the three-match ODI series 1-0, with the first ODI rained off in Karachi on Friday.

Imam-ul-Haq was not available for selection due to an injury in his left hand, which he sustained while fielding in the second ODI against Sri Lanka. Opening-batsman Abid Ali replaces him in the side.

Imad Wasim also misses out. He is replaced by Mohammad Nawaz.

Sri Lanka have made three changes to its squad with wicketkeeper Minod Bhanuka replacing Sadeera Samarawickrama to make his international debut. Angelo Perera and Lakshan Sandakan have also come into Sri Lanka’s final XI replacing Oshanda Fernando and Isuru Udana.

Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by 67 runs in the second ODI thanks to Babar Azam’s ton and Usman Shinwari’s five wickets in the last game.

Azam, currently one of the best batsmen in limited-overs cricket, smashed a solid 105-ball 115 to lift Pakistan to 305-7 after the home team won the toss and batted.

Shinwari then knocked off the top-order in figures of 5-51 as the visitors — depleted by the withdrawal of 10 top players who refused to tour over security fears — were bowled out for 238 in 46.5 overs.

Playing XI

Pakistan: Fakhar Zaman, Abid Ali, Babar Azam, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Sarfraz Ahmed (captain/wicketkeeper), Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir and Usman Shinwari

Sri Lanka: Lahiruahiru Thirimanne (captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Avishka Fernando, Angelo Perera, Minod Bhanuka (wicket-keeper), Shehan Jayasuriya, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Lahiru Kumara and Nuwan Pradeep

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.