Bangladesh women win second T20I by 20 runs

Share This Post:

Chattogram : Bangladesh women beat Pakistan women by 20 runs to gain an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on Friday evening. The third T20I match of the series will be played on Sunday at the same venue.
Chasing 121 to win, Pakistan finished their innings at 100-7 in the allotted 20 overs. Experienced batter Bismah Maroof, who top-scored with 30 off 44 deliveries, Iram Javed (15, 17b, 1×4) and Umm-e-Hani (14, 14b, 1×4) were the only batters to reach double figures for Pakistan.

Bangladesh left-arm spinner Nahida Akter, who took a five-fer in the previous game, once again shone with the ball taking two wickets and giving away 15 runs in her four overs. Rabeya Khan also got two wickets while Fahima Khatun and Marufa Akter took one wicket apiece.

Earlier, after being put into bat Bangladesh managed to score 120 for six in 20 overs. During the batting powerplay, Bangladesh batters accumulated 48 runs for the loss of one wicket. The bowlers pulled off well and conceded only 72 runs and took five wickets in the remaining 14 overs of the innings.

Off-spinner Umm-e-Hani, who bowled economically in the first T20I, gave away only 12 runs today in her spell of four overs and clinched the wicket of opening batter Murshida Khatun (20, 28b, 2x4s). The off-spinner was equally supported by left-arm spinners Nashra Sundhu and Sadia Iqbal – both bagged a wicket each for 16 and 24 runs, respectively.

Right-arm fast Diana Baig was the most successful bowler for the tourists, grabbing two wickets for 34 runs in four overs.

That the hosts were able to score 120 in 20 overs was due to a quick-fire unbeaten knock by Shorna Akter, who top-scored for her side with a 22-ball 27, hitting a four and a six.

Scores in brief:

Bangladesh women beat Pakistan women by 20 runs

Bangladesh 120-6, 20 overs (Shorna Akter 27 not out, Murshida Khatun 20; Diana Baig 2-34)

Pakistan 100-7, 20 overs (Bismah Maroof 30; Nahida Akter 2-15, Rabeya Khan 2-21)

Player of the match – Shorna Akter (Bangladesh women)

Third T20I at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram on 29 October

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *