Haris to captain Shaheens in ACC Men’s Emerging Asia Cup

Share This Post:

Lahore : Wicket-keeper Batsman Muhammad Haris has been appointed as the captain of the Pakistan Shaheens, who will participate in the ACC Asia Cup.

The tournament will be held from July 14 to July 23 in Sri Lanka.

Eight teams will participate in this tournament, and a total of fifteen matches will be played.

Pakistan Shaheens have been placed in Group A along with India A, Nepal, and Sri Lanka A, while Group B consists of Afghanistan A, Oman, Bangladesh, and United Arab Emirates.

Two top teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals.

Muhammad Haris has previously represented Pakistan in five One-Day Internationals and nine Twenty20 Internationals, and this will be his first time leading the Pakistan Shaheens.

The announcement of the 15-member team under the captaincy of Muhammad Haris has also been made. The team consists of the following players:

  • Muhammad Haris (Captain, Wicket-keeper) (Peshawar)
  • Ammar Bin Yousuf (Vice-Captain) (Karachi)
  • Imad Butt (Sialkot)
  • Arshad Iqbal (Swabi)
  • Hasibullah (Quetta)
  • Kamran Ghulam (Peshawar)
  • Mehran Mumtaz (Rawalpindi)
  • Mubasir Khan (Islamabad)
  • Muhammad Waseem Junior (South Waziristan)
  • Qasim Akram (Lahore)
  • Sahebzada Farhan (Charsadda)
  • Saim Ayub (Karachi)
  • Shah Nawaz Dhani (Larkana)
  • Sufyan Mehmood (Azad Jammu and Kashmir)
  • Tayyab Tahir (Gujrat)

The reserve players include Abdul Wahid Bangalzai, Muhammad Abbas Afridi, Muhammad Junaid, and Rohail Nazir.

In addition to Muhammad Haris, seven other players have represented Pakistan in international cricket. Arshad Iqbal (One T20 International), Kamran Ghulam (One One-Day International), Muhammad Waseem Junior (Two Tests, Fourteen One-Day Internationals, and Seventeen Twenty20 Internationals), Sahebzada Farhan (Three Twenty20 Internationals), Saim Ayub (Eight Twenty20 Internationals), Shah Nawaz Dhani (Two One-Day Internationals and Eleven Twenty20 Internationals), and Tayyab Tahir (Three Twenty20 Internationals).

The players of Pakistan Shaheens will assemble in Lahore on July 3, where they will participate in the National Cricket Academy Lahore camp from July 4. The team will depart for Sri Lanka on July 12.

The schedule for Pakistan Shaheens is as follows:

  • 14 July against Nepal
  • India A on July 16 while the third match
  • Against Sri Lanka A on 18 July
  • will play

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *