Lahore stun Multan to retain PSL-8 trophy.

Share This Post:

Lahore :Defending champion Lahore Qalandars recorded a stunning one-run win against Multan Sultans on the final ball to win the Pakistan Super League and become the first team to retain the title on Saturday.

Needing four runs off the last ball of the final — bowled by Zaman Khan — Khusdil Shah was run out while going for the third run to level Lahore’s total of 200-6 as Multan finished at 199-8.

Shaheen Shah Afridi’s brilliant all-round performance propelled Lahore to a strong total with a belligerent 44 not out off just 15 balls and the left-arm pacer then picked up four wickets in the death overs to finish with 4-51.

Khushdil and Abbas Afridi (17 not out) smacked fast bowler Haris Rauf for 22 runs in the penultimate over before Zaman kept his nerve in front of 25,000 fans to give the home team victory.

Both teams also played in last year’s final.

Complete list of HBL PSL award winners:

Player of the Tournament – Ihsanullah (Multan Sultans) (22 wickets, economy-rate 7.59)

Batter of HBL PSL 8 –Mohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans) (550 runs, 142.5 strike-rate)

Bowler of HBL PSL 8 – Ihsanullah (Multan Sultans) (22 wickets, economy-rate 7.59)

Fielder of HBL PSL 8 – Kieron Pollard (Multan Sultans) (11 catches)

Wicketkeeper of HBL PSL 8 – Mohammad Rizwan (Multan Sultans) (14 dismissals)

Emerging player of HBL PSL 8 – Abbas Afridi (Multan Sultans) (23 wickets, economy-rate 9.45)

All-rounder of HBL PSL 8 – Imad Wasim (Karachi Kings) (404 runs and nine wickets)

Spirit of Cricket – Peshawar Zalmi

Umpire of HBL PSL 8 – Alex Wharf

Result: Lahore won by 1 run
Player of the match: Shaheen Shah Afridi
Report by: Saif R Siddiqui

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *