Pak Sri Lanka Test Series: Announcement of 16-Member Squad,

Share This Post:

Islamabad: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced on Sunday that fast bowler Shaheen Afridi has made a comeback to Pakistan’s Test squad for the upcoming two matches against Sri Lanka next month.

The national selection committee has also included opening batsman Mohammad Haris and all-rounder Aamer Jamal in the 16-member squad for the series, which marks Pakistan’s first assignment in the ICC World Test Championship cycle three.

The squad has been designed keeping in view the conditions the team will face in Sri Lanka. According to a statement by the board, the team includes four spinners, four fast bowlers, six specialist batsmen, and two wicketkeeper-batsmen.

The last Test series between Pakistan and Sri Lanka was played in July 2022 and ended in a draw with a 1-1 result. Pakistan will assemble for a pre-series camp in Karachi on July 3 before departing for Sri Lanka on July 9.

Pakistan Squad:

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (vc & wk), Aamer Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Hasan Ali, Imran Butt, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi, and Shahnawaz Dahani.

Shaheen Afridi is just one wicket away from reaching the century of Test wickets, and since his debut on December 3, 2018, no left-arm Pakistani bowler has taken more wickets than him. The 23-year-old Shaheen has an average of 24.86 and an economy rate of 3.04.

Expressing his joy on the Test team comeback, Shaheen said, “I am very excited to make a comeback to Pakistan’s Test team after a year. I have missed Test cricket a lot, and it was challenging for me to stay away from this format.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *